Notable Speakers

HPAIR’s annual conferences have drawn prestigious speakers from across the globe. These speakers have included prominent business executives, distinguished faculty from preeminent universities, and renowned governmental leaders from across Asia and the world. Below is a list of some of our most notable past speakers:


The Honorable Ban Ki-moon
Secretary General, United Nations
Former Foreign Minister, Republic of Korea

Muhammad Yunus
Nobel Peace Prize Laureate, Foreign Policy’s No. 2 “Top 100 Global Thinkers”

Surin Pitsuwan
Secretary General, the Secretary-General of ASEAN

Raja Nazrin Shah
Crown Prince of Perak, Malaysia

The Honorable Kevin Rudd
Former Prime Minister, Australia

His Excellency Kim Dae-jung
Former President, Republic of South Korea
Laureate, Nobel Peace Prize, 2000

Joan Chen
Internationally Celebrated Actress

Professor Carter Eckert
Director of the Korea Institute, Harvard University

Professor Roderick Macfarquhar
Chairman, Department of Government, Harvard University

Robin Chase
Co-Founder and Former CEO, Zipcar

His Excellency Rudolfo Severino
Director General, Association of South East Asian Nations (ASEAN)

His Excellency S. R. Nathan
President, Singapore

His Excellency Kim Young-sam
Former President, Republic of South Korea

His Excellency Prince Norodom Ranariddh
Prime Minister, Cambodia

His Excellency Ichiro Fujisaki
Japan Ambassador to the United States

The Honorable Swanee Grace Hunt
Former United States Ambassador to Austria

The Honorable J. Thomas Schieffer
Former United States Ambassador to Japan

His Excellency The Right Reverend Peter Hollingworth
Governor General, Australia

His Excellency Dato’ Ajit Singh
Secretary General, ASEAN

Constantijn Claessens
Principal Economist, World Bank

Frank-Jurgen Richter
Asia Director, World Economic Forum

David Li
Chair and CEO, the Bank of East Asia

Professor Julio Frenk
Dean of the Harvard School of Public Health; Former Secretary of Health of Mexico

Professor Anthony Saich
Daewoo Professor of International Affairs, Harvard University, Director of Ash Institute for Democratic Governance and Innovation

Professor Dale W. Jorgenson
Samuel W. Morris University Professor at Harvard University

Bill Emmott
Chief Editor, The Economist

Fred Hu
Former Managing Director, Goldman Sachs Asia, Founder of Primavera Capital Group

Samir Zaid al-Rifai
Former Prime Minister, Jordan

The Honorable Song Sang-Hyun
Justice, International Criminal Court

The Honorable Sasaki Takeshi
President, University of Tokyo

The Honorable Joseph Prueher
Former United States Ambassador to P.R. China

The Honorable Narongchai Akrasanee
Minister of Commerce, Thailand

The Honorable Dr Jesus Estanislao
Minister of Finance, Philippines

The Honorable Alexander Downer
Minister of Foreign Affairs, Australia

Professor Wm. Theodore de Bary
John Mitchell Mason Professor and Provost Emeritus, Columbia University

Professor Dwight Perkins
Harold Hitchings Burbank Professor of Political Economy, Harvard Kennedy School
Former Director of the Asia Center, Harvard University

Professor Susan Pharr
Director, Program on U.S.-Japan Relations, Harvard University

Rear Admiral Teo Chee Hean
Minister of Education and Defense, Republic of Singapore

Admiral Seri Ahmad Ramli Mohd Noor
Chief of Navy, Malaysia

Thierry Porte
President and CEO, Shinsei Bank; Chairman, Japan-US Friendship Commission

Shigeharu Suzuki
President and CEO, Daiwa Securities Group Inc.

Anne Krueger
First Deputy Managing Director of the IMF

Ruimin Zhang
CEO, Haier

Ambassador Richard Solomon
President, Institute of Peace

Professor Jeffrey Sachs
Director of the Earth Institute, Columbia University
Former Director of the Center for International Development, Harvard University

Professor Ezra Vogel
Henry Ford II Professor of the Social Sciences, Harvard University

Philip Murphy
Former President, Goldman Sachs Asia

Charles Zhang

Professor Richard Cooper
Maurits C. Boas Professor of International Economics, Harvard University

Foong Wai Fong
Founder and CEO, Megatrends Asia

Victor Fung
Chairman, Prudential Asia

Vincent Lo
Chairman, Shui On Group

David Ritter
CEO, Greenpeace Australia